Posted by: The I AM Foundation | August 30, 2011

Two Bunch Palms Elementary School in Desert Hot Springs Book Recipient


Kenn Cross Points of Light Donor ~ Advocate for Children

The Two Bunch Palms Elementary School in Desert Hot Springs received 140 copies of The I AM! Affirmation Book: Discovering The Value of Who You Are thanks to our long time friend and Point of Light Kenn Cross of Kenn Cross Concepts. Kenn has impacted thousands of children through personally gifting copies of The I AM! Affirmation Book, his outstanding fundraising and his heartfelt generosity.  Once again Kenn has impacted children in his community with his 2011 Point of Light Donation which has provided books for the children at this school. Kenn also hand delivered the books to The I AM Foundation’s Recipient Applicant Debralee Reichard. Thank you Kenn!

Teacher Debralee Reichard from The Two Bunch Palms Elementary School in Desert Hot Springs requested the books for “the reading levels of our third-graders is from 1st to 4th grades. I am requesting this donation for my entire third-grade (5) classes of 30+ students each to be used in classrooms or our sparse library.”

Debralee continues “My school is located in a very low economic area of the Southern California desert. Our school has grown, while our budget has decreased. Many of my student\’s parents are unemployed or working low paying manual labor jobs. Each year I spend what I can to enrich our classroom as the parents are unable to contribute. My school is 98% free or reduced meals. I would like to provide my third-graders with a snack each day, but am unable to afford it myself. In addition, we are in constant needs of school supplies as our district has cut the budget in half. Crayons, writing paper, markers and mostly reading books are needed. I became a teacher to help our children learn to appreciate education and strive for a better future. Please join me in making this possible for the generations that follow us and will someday make decision of worldwide importance.”

If you would like to donate books to the library at Two Bunch Palms, you can call them at 760-251-7220. For more information, please go to http://www.psusd.us/

Leave a Reply

Categories

