Posted by: The I AM Foundation | June 29, 2011

Rwanda: “They will use the I AM Books throughout their lives as a way to always remember that they have value…”


The following is from an email sent to us by Shauna Kane, after her recent trip to Rwanda where she gifted I AM Books…

I returned from Rwanda last week and once again had another life changing experience in Africa. The people of Rwanda are a true testament of the power that the human spirit has to endure and to forgive, it was truly unbelievable.

I want to thank you so much again for your donation of the I AM books.  They could not have been a more perfect gift for this group. For a month we worked with 12 students ages 20-25, all of whom survived the genocide but many of which witnessed the murders of their family members and have been left to live life alone since a very young age. For a month we worked with these students doing trauma healing, leadership training and entrepreneurship development through the organization Create Global Healing.

During the last week I handed out the I AM books and once again it was amazing, with this group I focused in on the affirmations I AM Worthy, I AM Loved, I AM Powerful, I AM Somebody and I AM Generous. Each person spoke these statements with such conviction–feeling it in their body and truly knowing that this is the truth of who they are and the truth of who each and everyone of us is.

The day after I gave out the books we were doing a check in and one of the students said that the I AM books made her realize that she had value. This is a young girl who witnessed the killing of her entire family at the age of 7 and ran into the woods and hid for three months on her own after being badly injured by the rebel groups. To know that she now knew that she had value was the greatest gift I could ever receive.

I know that they will use the I AM books throughout their lives as a way to always remember that they have value and that their lives matter. I can not thank you enough for creating these books and always being so willing to get them to me so that I could bring them to Africa.

Thank you so much Steve and Marilyn.

Included are a couple of pictures from my time there.

Lots of Love,
Shauna

Here is a link to Project LIGHT
www.projectlightrwanda.com

Here is the video that was filmed during her time there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

