Posted by: The I AM Foundation | May 3, 2010

SAIC E2I Group Sponsors Children’s Book


Article as published by SAIC (Science Applications International Corporation in March 2010)

The Energy, Environment & Infrastructure Business Unit (E2I BU) recently provided financial support to help develop a book that teaches children about being stewards of the earth.

The book, called I Am the Earth: Positive Affirmations for Loving Our Planet, will be given to children (on behalf of SAIC) locally and globally through the I AM Foundation, a 501c3 nonprofit organization. SAIC is acknowledged in the back of the book.

The E2I BU’s Social Responsibility Committee (SRC), which sponsors many community support projects, especially those that involve environmental science, provided the seed money to create and publish the book.

Shari L. Simon, E2I BU subcontracts manager, requested the donation from the SRC. “My involvement with the community is very important to me,” said Simons. “My passion to help children believe in themselves and to be great caretakers of our planet is what prompted my commitment to support the I AM Foundation. I am extremelygrateful to SAIC and the committee for their support in publishing this very important and timely book.”

Thanks to E2I BU’s contribution to the I AM Foundation, 500 of these books will be given to children at San Diego’s Earth Day celebration. More than 100 books will be sent to children in Peru where Simon will be personally distributing the books on behalf of the I AM foundation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

