Posted by: The I AM Foundation | November 17, 2009

Cause Marketing Partner: Cakeypies


Cakeypies1

In 2005 I was visiting my friend Bruce Descoteaux in San Diego.  I noticed the I Am Book on his coffee table and picked it up to see what it was.  Needless to say, I couldn’t put it down.  I read every word and found myself a little emotional.  The words in that book were the words I’ve believed and lived by my whole life.  It was as if Steve Viglione wrote down my thoughts.  I found myself filled with excitement – as if someone else got it, but took that next step and did something about it.  Later that evening, I phoned my Mother and read the entire book to her.  She too got very emotional and agreed that the words in the book were exactly the words I’ve lived by my whole life.  From that moment, I was hooked.  Since then, I’ve given 10% of my income to the I Am Foundation every year – – even in tough times.  I believe with all my heart that these books can change a child’s life forever.  Still today, I carry 50 or more books with me in my car and hand them out to every child I see.  The feedback I get warms my heart.  This organization allows me to feel a part of changing the world one child at a time.  I’m proud to be a supporter of the I Am Foundation.

Cakeypies began to be conceptualized in early 2003 in my home kitchen.  For the next 5 years, I ran test after test to find a creative and delicious way to combine my favorite cakes with my favorite pies and turn them into one extraordinary dessert.  Finally, in 2008, I did it.  Cakeypies were born, and exceeded all of my taste expectations.  They were not only delicious, but got better as the days went by versus drying out or turning syrupy like most cakes and pies.  Then it was a matter of finding a national company to license my product in the retail grocery stores.  I was told this was next to impossible and would take years of sales figures, a large network of distribution, and a whole lot of luck.  But, in 2009, it happened.  And so began the process of perfecting my dessert on a large scale, creating packaging, labeling, getting nutritionals, and working out distribution channels.  Which brings me to today.  What I am now searching for is a national television show like Oprah, Rachel Ray, Martha Stewart, Bonnie Hunt, or even the morning news shows to feature my product.  Once we are scheduled for appearance, we will begin our launch and make sure the product is available immediately for the consumer.  Once launched, we will be excited to have The I Am Foundation as our official charity of choice.  A portion of the proceeds from every Cakeypie sold will be given to the I AM Foundation to help change the lives of children all over the world.  I have been a proud supporter of this great charity for many years and plan to be for a long time to come.  Here’s to our future – one child at a time!

Kenn Cross

Owner, Cakeypies

(619) 952-5207

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

